pattern: berry baby hat

Berry Baby Hat

This is a little hat pattern I developed after seeing similar hats in shops. I added the i-cord topknot, emphasized the roll-up edging, and changed the leaves to be better defined than the ones I’d seen.

This one is worked in TLC Cotton Plus on US size 7 & 8 circular and double-point needles. I find that 100% cotton lacks the bit of springiness needed to get a good fit around a little head. It also works nicely using size 8 or 9 needles with a worsted merino such as Patons or Brown Sheep for toddler size. (For very lucky babies, this is beautiful in Debbie Bliss Cashmerino or Cotton Cashmere.) Or, if you have a problem with wool, you can use an acrylic craft yarn

It’s very adaptable for different yarns and sizes, so have fun and experiment: Just add another 8 sts to make a larger size. For toddler size, you’ll probably also want to make it deeper so there’s still some roll up edge when the hat is on.

Feel free to share the pattern, with attribution, or sell or give away the hats you make. But please don’t sell the pattern. Thanks.

Gotta cute “action shot?” Post it in the comments!

Give me a yell if anything doesn’t make sense or if I need to make corrections.

Dec 07 2008 UPDATE: There was a typo in the PDF that did not change the construction, but was confusing. I had originally written the pattern for red/green and missed a spot when I changed to lilac to match the image. The PDF link on this page is revised.

DUE TO A RECENT BRUTE FORCE ATTACK ON WORDPRESS BLOGS, RESULTING IN SPAM COMMENTS, I’VE SHUT DOWN COMMENTS FOR NOW. IF YOU HAVE A QUESTION, PLEASE FIND ME ON RAVELRY BY SEARCHING FOR THIS SAME PATTERN.

Grab the PDF

Knitting español? Here’s a translation, thanks to Paula from Ravelry.

Knitting en français? Here’s a translation from Veronique from Ravelry.

184 Responses to “pattern: berry baby hat”


  1. 1 bonitapita January 11, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    Hi! Thanks for creating and sharing this CUTE pattern! I’m confused, though. Above you say that you give permission to sell hats made from this pattern but on the PDF it says not to. I probably wouldn’t because I barely have time to make the things I want to make BUT I am sure I will be asked to make one for someone for a fee…you know? Thanks!

  2. 2 Michele Sabatier January 11, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    Oops. That’s an old PDF and I guess I’ve become more relaxed about such things since. Absolutely feel free to sell hats. They are great little craft-fair items, and people often want to pay you to make one for a friend.

    Thanks for pointing out the discrepancy. I’ll revise the PDF and repost. (Probably should add gauge, too, huh?)
    :-)

    • 3 Gwen Montague August 31, 2009 at 2:55 pm

      hiii,, i am having trouble finding patteren of Berry Baby Hat
      i want to knit it for my grand son and great grandaughter, appreciate assistance.
      Thank You
      Gwen Montague

    • 5 lucyfrance January 22, 2013 at 6:19 pm

      I love this berry hat and can’t wait to buy the wool and get started but I am not an experienced knitter and I a hesitate about starting because I do not understand, “place marker and slip marker” is the marker a stitch that you slip or is it a piece of yarn that one places to mark the spot. Please help.

      • 6 Michele Sabatier January 22, 2013 at 6:59 pm

        I’m glad you want to give it a try! A marker can be either a loop of contrasting yarn a rubber ring, or a commercially made “stitch marker”. Because there are now rows to count when you knit in the round, you need to keep track of the beginning of each round. “Place marker” just means put the marker onto your needle. Then as you knit around and come to that marker, just slip it from one needle to the next without making a stitch. That’s “Slip marker.” It’s not especially critical when you start out because you can see the yarn tail and estimate when you make each round to get to the desired measurement. But once you start the leaves, pay very careful attention to the marker to get the green points and for the leaves to stand up along their middles.

        Hope this helps.

  3. 7 marjory January 12, 2008 at 1:46 am

    Hi Michele,

    I am very grateful for you cute hat. I recently heard my niece is expecting a baby this summer and I wanted to knit her a cute thing. I was thinking of
    knitty :http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEwinter03/PATTbabytart.html
    but, since I am not very experienced in knitting, it seemed a difficult pattern to me.
    Your hat, however is just as funny as the babytart and I am pretty confident I will be able to knit it. Allthough I may have to ask for your guidance by the time I reach the green part: I do not know what a bowling pin is, I suspect we do not have such an item in Holland, and my dictionary only speaks of bowling green.
    (had to look slanting up as well, but I think I know what you meant by that ;0))
    I do however have some ‘hatexperience’ I made the warm ears TAOS hat this month, and once someone explained me the “slip & wrap as for short turn” I found that one fairly easy.

    Thanks for donating the babyberry as a free pattern, By the time I made the babyberry, my profile at ravelry must be completed as well and I will put a picture of it in the ‘projects’

    marjory haspels

  4. 8 Lori Smith February 9, 2008 at 9:20 am

    thanks so much for sharing this cute baby hat pattern. I can’t wait to make it.

    Lori

  5. 9 Mother Chaos February 9, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Oh my goodness. This is so adorable I can’t stand it!

    Thanks for sharing it! And for freely permitting sales of the hats – I think you just gave me a WONDERFUL item for the charity fundraiser this winter!! What could possibly be better for a children’s health services event than ADORABLE baby hats?! :)

  6. 10 AmyJ March 19, 2008 at 4:33 am

    Are you carrying the green along the back of the work while you k7 red? Could I see a pic of the inside of the hat?

  7. 11 Michele Sabatier March 19, 2008 at 6:34 am

    Good idea. I’ll post a photo on Ravelry next time I make a hat. I don’t have any around the house now.

    I do carry the yarn behind the work. It’s never more than 7 stitches, and only a few rows. Just be sure to keep it loose enough that it doesn’t pull the stitches in.

  8. 12 Rebecca in Chapel Hill, NC March 25, 2008 at 7:31 am

    I love this pattern. I’ve just made a grape/eggplant/plum. I’m going to make a raspberry next. It’s fabulous and very easy to follow. I’ve been knitting for about 2 months and have finished it with some help from my friends at the local yarn store.

    Everyone’s been asking me for it and I’ve been referring them to this blog.

    Thanks for making it available to all!

  9. 13 Carey April 4, 2008 at 10:04 am

    Michelle, thanks for the pattern, it’s fabulous! I can’t give you an ‘action shot’ because the baby isn’t born yet, but I thought I’d post a pic anyway. I did some little socks to match.

    [IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v387/mommycarey/berryhat007.jpg[/IMG]

  10. 14 Julie April 15, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Thank you! My little one is always in “need” for more hats – can’t wait to try this one! :)

  11. 15 Redsknits April 24, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Ditto to all the thank-yous for a nifty free pattern. I will be sure to donate one to charity in your name.

  12. 16 kelebek May 2, 2008 at 4:55 am

    Cute, cute, cute! I have the perfect yarn for this. Thank you!!

  13. 17 Musseblomman July 4, 2008 at 2:20 am

    I have made a lot of “your” Berry Hats. I still love to do them.
    Thank you for an excellent pattern. My friends and all who have got a hat is so happy about them.. Many people have asked about a Berry Hat pattern and I have guided them to your pdf-pattern.
    Thank you again.
    Eliza from Sweden

  14. 18 Suzy July 30, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    It’s a great pattern and I enjoy knitting it every time. But I have a question. Your picture shows leaves with strong 3D texture. In comparison mine, and many I looked at on Ravelry, are flat. I prefer yours. Have you noticed this too? Any thoughts on what is happening and what I can do to get the “look”?

  15. 19 Michele Sabatier July 31, 2008 at 5:56 am

    @Suzy: I have noticed, and all I can think of is that the decreases need to be made on every round. Many hats do every other, specifically to keep them flat. Next time I make one I’ll pay attention and see what else it might be, but can’t think of any other variables now. Especially since some are twisting nicely.

    Hmmm…

  16. 20 carole September 28, 2008 at 5:55 am

    thanks for the great pattern. It’s a nice twist to the umbilical cord hat which is my usual standby. I’ll definitely use this for the next baby gift (I just finished for 5 babies b5 seeing your blog)

  17. 21 Kristina October 15, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Beautiful hat! Thanks for sharing the pattern. :)

  18. 22 mayerlene October 20, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Thank you so much for the pattern. It will be the first time I use circular needles and I am slightly nervous. The wool I’m hoping to use is baby cashmerino, but the needles required are 3.25 mm and not 8 mm (size 8), as you specify. Do you think cashmerino DK might be better? Many thanks

  19. 23 Michele Sabatier October 20, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    @mayerlene: I don’t think using DK yarn would be a problem but the hat will be much smaller. 3.5mm needles are actually a US size 4 I believe. I’d suggest doing a gauge swatch. As long as you use a multiple of 8 stitches the basic pattern will work — you’ll just have more “leaves.” There’s one for every 8 stitches. Post a photo when you’re done! :-)

  20. 24 mayerlene October 21, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Michele, thank you so much for replying so quickly. I think I’m going to try to buy a wool with a similar weight to the one you have used (TLC Cotton Plus isn’t available in the UK, where I am) for my first circular knitting effort, I’ll venture the Cashmerino once I know what I’m doing. And, yes, of course I’ll put a pic up.

  21. 25 Michele Sabatier October 26, 2008 at 7:54 am

    @kathyboathy Hmmm. I never did that, but sounds interesting. I think the difference (and it’s one I discovered accidentally) is to do the K2tog on EVERY row. Most hats do the decrease every OTHER row. Where you do the first K2tog determines where the ridge will be (at the point of the leaf)

  22. 26 Kathybowathy October 26, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    No, I did the k2tog’s on every row. When I substitute the ssk’s the leaves swirl in the opposite direction so I moved my marker 2 stitches further to the left than the directions call for (k4 instead of k2). I’ll play with it a little more to see if I can make it swirl in the same direction as yours.

  23. 27 Michele Sabatier December 7, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Yes — it’s a color change from whatever body color you’ve chosen to green.

  24. 28 Eva December 7, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Thanks Michele for the quick reply. The row that I am at now has eight purple stitches among the green ones. Is that mean I can ignore the noted paragraph from my previous email, and start the decreasing row? Thanks again for your advise.

    Eva

  25. 29 Eva December 8, 2008 at 2:58 am

    Hi Michele,

    I got it. All done. Cute as the one that you posted. THANKS AGAIN for sharing this adorable hat pattern.

    Eva

  26. 30 Eileen February 4, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    I am a pretty new knitter, so I haven’t done alternating colors before. Is what you are doing basically Intarsia? Do I start a new strand every time I change colors or do I just carry the previous strand over when I switch again? I’m looking at the Intarsia video on knittinghelp.com to try figuring this out.

    Thanks for sharing this pattern so freely. I’ve been trying to figure out what to knit for my friends’ newborn twins and I wanted something cute but interesting. This is by far the most interesting fruit pattern I’ve seen so far. I’m planning on making a “tomato” and an “eggplant”. Thanks so much!

  27. 31 Michele Sabatier February 4, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    Hi Eileen. This is really more like fairisle than intarsia, since you eventually transition to all green from all or whatever color the body of the hat is. So for 7 rows you carry the unused color behind the work. Fairisle experts say to twist the yarn if you carry it across more than some number of stitches, but I’m kind of lazy. It never carries more than 7, and that’s only for the first and last rows of the transition.

    Hope this helps.

    (Eggplant is one of my favorites. Patons makes a beautiful deep purple and a pale green worsted merino.)

  28. 32 Eileen February 6, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Thanks so much! I was able to finish my first one (knitting for twins) and am starting the next one. I tried doing SSK for the decreases this time and will do k2together for the next one so I can have the swirls go in the opposite direction. :)

  29. 34 Julie June 9, 2009 at 2:58 am

    What a sweet pattern! And how generous and kind of you to offer it for free! Rummaging through the stash now to cast on. Thank-you very much!

  30. 35 Veronique in France July 18, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Hello,

    Thanks for your lovely pattern. I just finished it and love the result :))
    You can see it here : http://verom.canalblog.com/archives/2009/07/15/14404743.html

    As many many french ladies are asking me, would you allow me to translate your pattern in french ? If yes, just send me a Ok to the above email adress please, and I will send the translation.

    Thanks in advance
    Veronique in France

  31. 36 Barbara August 29, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    I wanted to make a cap for my friend’s new grandaughter and just couldn’t find the right pattern. Yours’ is adorable. thank you so much for sharing it.

  32. 37 coolknitmom October 4, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    More babies are arriving in my family (knitting and relatives). I can’t wait to to finish this darling little hat for one or some.
    Thanks for making it available!

  33. 39 nynovice October 9, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    The gauge for this cute Berry Baby Hat is given as “20 stitches and 24 rows = 4 inches in stockinette.” If I achieve those numbers using no. 7 needles … should I use no. 6 needles for casting on and the first 4-5 rows of stockinet? Thanks for helping this novice!

    • 40 Michele Sabatier July 7, 2010 at 9:22 am

      Yes, that’s exactly right. Just use one size smaller than the body of the hay so the curl on the band will be a bit tighter. With cottony yarns, this helps avoid stretching out of the opening.

  34. 41 Gloria October 20, 2009 at 7:53 am

    I am so excited to have found this pattern! I am hoping to make it in orange and green for our yet unborn grandaughter so her 4 and 6 yr old sisters can “dress her up” as a pumpkin for her first Halloween. She should be born this week.
    Thank you very much for sharing this pattern.
    Gloria

  35. 42 Jane October 23, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Hello Michele!
    Thank you so much for this pattern. I started and finished the hat for my baby boy yesterday. It only took me 3-4 hours (during naptime and in the evening). Even my husband, who really doesn’t like knitted clothes (especially NOT on his son!) said the hat looks cute!
    Jane

  36. 43 Veronica Darling November 15, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    I just made your hat!

    Thank you so much! http://veronicadarling.blogspot.com/2009/11/fruity-frippery-for-your-baby-head.html (I’ve also linked to your site)

    I found it on ravelry, and have never done a babies hat or used circular knitting needles (I had to use double pointed needles) and I’ve never done cord thing before either and your instructions worked fine. Thank you so much!

  37. 44 Echo December 30, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    Thank you so much for the pattern, and for the permissions. I am working on opening up a hand crafted and upcycled baby boutique for young parents that caters to helping teen moms in my area. My little sister was only 16 when she had her little angel. SO it is a goal in my life to make it easier for parents to get the things they need like nice used or handmade clothing items for their children in these hard economic times.

    I am so glad you have given permission for us to use it for sale items! Thanks again, I am so excited.

    Do you mind if I convert this pattern to loom knitting and crochet? I haven’t mastered needle knitting yet.

    Thanks again!

  38. 45 Tora January 29, 2010 at 8:40 am

    This is so cute, thank you for sharing:)

  39. 46 webredactor February 3, 2010 at 5:37 am

    I’ll try my first experiment with magic loop using your pattern: I’d like to thank you and to say it’s really cute!
    daniela

  40. 47 Chris-32 February 10, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Thanks to another Raveler which seems to be a “Berry baby Hat ” addict, I’ve found your pattern and I wanted to thank you for sharing it for free.
    I hope I ‘ll be able to do it for my little girl. Guess she will be kind of cute with such hat …

  41. 48 Echo March 20, 2010 at 3:03 am

    This darling hat was my first ever hat on needles! I loved it, it took me about 5.5 hours, but that was with a few edits tot eh pattern for sizing, and a few break to walk the dogs. My sister has an almost 2 year old that loves the dark-red-almost-gone-bad-strawberries, so I made one in a dark pinkish red caron yarn I found at dollar tree. I also used the magic loop method, and it worked fine, a bit of a pain at the end, but that may have been that that is the first time I have tried that too! Thanks so much! You can see my version of your adorable hat here: http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs397.snc3/24159_1209660852081_1545512534_473948_5427365_n.jpg

    Thanks again for the pattern!

  42. 49 Echo March 21, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    here is my hat project on ravlery, I hope I did it justice!

    http://www.ravelry.com/projects/shadedfears/berry-baby-hat

    Have a good day!

  43. 50 marica May 20, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    hi, i am italian, i start a blog where are projects only for baby , mine or traslates, i ask you permission to publish and translating the pattern of berry hat.
    thanks cm zamperetti

    “la maglia di marica”

    • 51 marica May 20, 2010 at 5:35 pm

      hi, i am italian, i start a blog where are projects only for baby , mine or traslates, i ask you permission to publish and translating the pattern of berry hat.
      thanks cm zamperetti
      http://la maglia di marica

  44. 52 Susan August 7, 2010 at 8:28 am

    Hi
    I was trying to download the pattern to the berry baby hat but it doesn’t seem to be available anymore. Can you send me the pdf.

    Very much appreciated!!

    Susan

  45. 53 Kimbatigger August 8, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Love your pattern! I am planning on using it as a companion to one of the “baby cocoon/peapod sacks for expected twin grandchildren. The yarn I purchased for the pods is bulky – Berroco Chunky Vintage. Can you help me with any adaptation that would be necessary to use your pattern with the heavier yarn? I think the hat and the pods will be really cute together. I’ve chosen Wasabi and Dewberry for the colors, as my we won’t know about boys or girls until the babies are with us. Thanks for your help. (And wish me luck)

    • 54 Michele Sabatier August 8, 2010 at 11:37 am

      Well, I’m not sure how bulky the yarn you’re using is, so it’s hard to say. Of course, do a gauge swatch, and apply that to the desired circumference of the finished hat. I think I’d start by maybe eliminating one leaf (one set of 8 stitiches) As long as you are working in multiples of 8 the basic pattern should work. PLEASE post a photo when you’re done. Sounds too cute for words!!!

      • 55 Sarah Oftedahl November 8, 2010 at 4:02 pm

        I’m just starting to knit but this pattern looks pretty self explanitory. I do have the same question that was asked a couple years ago. Do you carry the green along the back of the work while you k7 lilac? Did you every post a picture of the inside of the hat on ravelry? Thank you very much for sharing the pattern. It is adorable!

  46. 56 kimberly September 5, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing this pattern & allowing the completed object to be gifted,sold. I can’t wait to get this to my friend. You can read a littl about it on my blog.
    http://www.kikkisdesigns.blogspot.com

    Thanks!!

  47. 57 Veronique October 6, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Hi Michelle,

    I am sorry to inform you that a website is showing your model with the french translation even without linking to your website !!!

    Look : http://www.magic-maison.com/maison/tous-les-modeles-tricot-le-bonnet-pointu-en-jersey-avec-pompon/1068/17522.asp

    I sent them an email via the contact button but just wanted to inform you….

    I am so sorry about this.

    Veronique

  48. 58 curiousbea October 29, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Hi there, thank you so much for the pattern my friend loved the berry hat! I have just used it again with a few tweaks to make a stripy pom pom hat I hope that’s Ok, here’s a link http://curiousbea.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/baby-hats/. Thank you again for sharing this pattern for free, I’m sure I’ll make this berry hat time and time again for my friends they think they are so cute!

  49. 59 Sheila December 29, 2010 at 1:42 am

    This is an adorable hat. I’m anxious to try it. Looks like fun! I am trying to print the pattern, but when I click the “Grab the PDF” line, nothing comes up. Is this still available?

  50. 60 Willa January 23, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Thank you for the pattern! I’ve made 2 so far, an ‘eggplant’ and a ‘tomato’. It’s so easy and fun. I’m using Lion Brand Cotton Ease and it’s perfect.

  51. 61 Linda January 28, 2011 at 8:11 am

    Hi! I LOVE this pattern! It is sooo adorable. I want to make matching hats for sisters. One sister is 3 months old. The other is 5 years old. How big should I make the hat for the 5 year old? I am relatively new to knitting and I’m not sure how many stitches will give me the size I need. Thank you!!

  52. 62 Cheryl February 4, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    Thank you so much for allowing me to use your pattern! I’m making the hat for my friend Catherine who is having a baby girl in April. Welcome Baby Lillian!

  53. 63 Melissa B February 25, 2011 at 9:56 am

    Hi! First, thanks for the super cute pattern. I’m 6 months along, and this is my first knitted project for the baby. Second, help! This is my first project knitting with two colors, and I’m not sure of the best technique to use. I’m trying a fair isle technique of carrying two yarns at once. There a HUGE loops in the back. Is that expected?

    You can see my WIP on my blog here: http://melissa.blavos.com/2011/02/25/berry-hat-for-baby/

  54. 64 tamlking February 28, 2011 at 4:28 am

    This is such an adorable hat and since my daughter is expecting, it will make yet another perfect gift for her! Thank you for sharing this pattern with us!

  55. 67 Rachel April 16, 2011 at 5:15 am

    Thank you so much for this excellent pattern. I have recently learned to ‘knook’ (knitting with a crochet hook) and this was my first project following a pattern. I had very little trouble following it (got a little tangled up with the stitch marker, but found I could do quite happily without) and the finished hat looked just like your picture!

    I wrote a blog post about it, which has a picture of the hat in action.

    http://growingthingsandmakingthings.blogspot.com/2011/04/urgent-knooking-project-baby-hat.html

  56. 68 jeanette April 17, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Oh NO :( There is one part, I just can not get. I realize I need to move the marker, but will I be reverse knitting one lilac to the left? I know, I should know this, big apology. Please,can you explain this part after you have the (only) 8 lilac single stitches left?? ->Using the green yarn, K the single lilac stitch, then 2 greens. Place marker. Continue in green for the round. Slip the marker. Cut the lilac yarn leaving a long tail.<-
    Thank you-Jeanette

    • 69 Michele Sabatier April 17, 2011 at 11:59 am

      I think I get what you’re asking. You’ve successfully made the switch from knitting all lilac to all green? There’s no reverse knitting involved. You’re just doing a round of all green to get ready to start the decreases that make the leafy shape. It’s important that the marker be in the right spot to make the ridges that stand up. That last set of 8 is just a little different from the others. Follow the instructions, and it should make sense as you go.

      If you’re in doubt, take it to a yarn shop where an experienced knitter can guide you through it.

  57. 70 Sam Morse April 23, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Thank you so much for posting this fun pattern. I made one in a bright red (Stitch Nation yarn) and lively green for my grandaughter and it’s so cute. I’d love to send you a picture of her in it but I think I need your email as I don’t have a website. I am already planning a pumpkin for fall; I am going to purl every 8th stitch of the orange part to make sections. I couldn’t really get the 3-D effect but it was cute anyway, and I learned to make I-cord too. Thanks! :-)

  58. 72 buy replica Montblanc June 15, 2011 at 12:48 am

    thanks so much for sharing this cute baby hat pattern. I can’t wait to make it.

    http://www.replicasbuy.co.uk/buy-replica-montblanc-46.html

  59. 73 Randi June 22, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Thank you for sharing this sweet pattern. I am a new knitter and I am going to attempt this adorable hat as a gift for my friend. Is it ok if I only use size 7 needles for entire hat?

  60. 74 Damselfly Adventures July 29, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    I love this pattern, I bought the yarn at a knitting store in Black Mountain, NC and I am having so many issues with my circular needles on this pattern. I can’t seem to get my needles to move once I join and go to knit. I am new at this but determined… I have another baby girl coming into this world in November and hoping I can get this one done and a bigger version for her big sister… :(

  61. 75 Alyssa August 15, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    This is an adorable hat and I would really like to make one for the NICU where my son was a patient. Most of their babies are preemies. Any tips for scaling this pattern down to a preemie-size?

    Thanks a lot!

  62. 76 elleasea November 12, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    Hi, I just love this hat! Cute pattern, i’ll post my finished pic and a link to you on my blog (readership 1) later this week.

    My hat’s leaves were a little flat too. I tried to fluff them up a bit during blocking, but they’re not so nice as yours. Did you have a chance to follow up on the previous comments as to how yours come out so defined?

  63. 77 nikkilynn6 January 9, 2012 at 10:42 am

    Thank you SO much for this easy-to-follow pattern! I’m on my third berry hat and it’s getting easier each time. Thanks again!

  64. 78 Dottie Avery January 13, 2012 at 8:37 pm

    Great pattern … My daughter in law has bee asking me to knit up a hat for my granddaughters … Love to knit for them. The is, Dottie

  65. 79 Marta Pasqualato January 16, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    Hi! Thank you very much for this pattern. I’m knitting form Italy and I’ve made the Italian translation, if you want I could send you the pdf for adding it to the other languages.

  66. 80 Nikki Dellow January 17, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    I can’t seem to download the pattern or see where it should be downloaded, can you help please? Thanks Nikki

  67. 81 Jennifer January 26, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    Hi your pattern is amazingly cute, just found out my cousin is having a girl so I’m going to make one for her! Just wondering though, your needle sizes, are they US or UK sizes?

  68. 82 Barb Shillinger (@DollMakerBarb) January 30, 2012 at 12:12 am

    Thank you for sharing this darling pattern, Michelle!

  69. 83 Cathy Pepin February 12, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    I was asked to knit preemie hats for donation. Thank you for the free pattern. :)

    I have a pair of socks waiting to turn the heel, but have started using up my free time on hats for preemies.

  70. 84 Elizabeth Roush February 25, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    Hi! I just tried this pattern (first time knitting with circular and dpns) and it worked great except I ended up with larger stitches in the leaf portion of the hat – they were kind of gaping – making holes that were larger than the other stitches in the hat. I’m wondering what I am doing to create this. Its not a yarn over hole, its like it isn’t tight enough. Anyway, I’m not sure if I’m messing up with the ktogs or what. Also, I made the size with 72 stitches for my 2 year old.

  71. 85 kimberlilly March 22, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    with all do respect to all the talented knitters i have a question for you Michelle, I notice that in the hat you have done the “leaves” are very well defined which gives it the adorable charm you are going for however looking at various pics done by ppl theirs don`t seems to have the same definition? what could be the reason for this?

  72. 86 Salette-Luvs To-Knit April 3, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    Thank you so much for this adorable pattern and for the permission to knit it for a fee.

  73. 87 Carmen April 6, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    Thanks so much for the pattern! This was my first knitting project and I was worried that it would be too complicated for a first project, but it was actually fairly easy and I think the hat turned out great! (I did need to get some help from YouTube to learn how to twist colours.)
    I made it a bit big so it should be a perfect fit once winter comes around, and my husband saw it wants me to make him one as well! There are pics on my blog:

    http://bigmilkthing.blogspot.ca/2012/04/getting-crafty-part-1.html

  74. 88 Carlina White May 20, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Hi i love this hat- i am going to be a noni for the first time and would love this pattern please-how do i get it carlina white

  75. 89 Sheri Russo July 25, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    Can this be done with the Magic Loop method using really long circular needles instead of Double Pointed ones? My hands are very clumsy and so far I can only knit hats and gloves with the Magic Loop.

    • 90 Michele Sabatier July 25, 2012 at 3:09 pm

      I’ve never done magic loop, so I’ll have to defer to those on this thread who are more experienced with that. I suppose that anything in the round can be done by that method?

      • 91 Marie August 6, 2012 at 9:52 am

        Thanks for this darling pattern. However my little hat does not have its leaves as defined – 3 D looking – as your picture. I have seen that others refer to this same problem in their comments. Do you have any suggestions for me? I am using a cotton and acrylic blend yarn. Could that be the problem?

      • 92 Michele Sabatier August 26, 2012 at 11:25 am

        I’ll be honest, the photo is set up and lighted to accentuate the leaves, but I do hear from some people that their leaves don’t stand up. The yarn in the photo is a cotton/acrylic blend so I don’t think that’s the problem. Just be sure to do the decreases on EVERY ROW. Most hats do every OTHER row to stay flat.

  76. 93 Diane August 9, 2012 at 8:58 am

    Thanks for the cute pattern. My Newcomers Alumnae group are always looking for new patterns. We knit preemie caps and regular sized caps for charities. Some go to 3rd world locations and some are sent to our local hospital.
    Diane

  77. 94 Vicki August 25, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    I would like to knit this darling hat for my soon to be born granddaughter. Would it fit an newborn? I was hoping to have it done to bring the baby home from the hospital. Any guide on sizing would be helpful. Thanks!

  78. 96 Sharon September 1, 2012 at 11:19 am

    How do I get the pattern?

  79. 98 Frances September 6, 2012 at 8:34 am

    Just finished the hat in a pumpkin color for a baby expected in October! It’s really cute! Thanks for the pattern.

  80. 99 Sally September 25, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    I LOVE this pattern but I need help. In your picture the leaves look very 3D but mine came out rather flat…any suggestions?

    • 100 Michele Sabatier October 24, 2012 at 1:55 pm

      If your leaves are flat it could be that you are decreasing every other row, as most hats do, rather than EVERY round. It’s also important to start the decrease round exactly when and where the pattern describes. The type of yarn can also affect how much lift the leaves have.

      • 101 Alex clarke January 15, 2013 at 3:21 pm

        Is there anybody out there that can make this lovely hat for me?

        I am in UK but could cover any costs-expenses-postage…

        Been looking forever to replace a VERY much outgrown Xmas pudding hat by Merry Berries (I think we all know the style I am thinking of!). My daughter is a small 8yr old and is wearing a very stretched age 2 hat! Would have bought a bigger one had there been one ever available.

        This would mean the world to us.

        Thanks Alex clarke
        Alexclarke1@hotmail.co.uk

    • 102 Susie December 19, 2012 at 8:59 am

      I had this same problem…I unraveled, followed the pattern again* and had the problem again. Per Michele’s response, could it be that I’m using an acrylic/nylon yarn and not a cotton blend or cashmere?

      *I think I followed the pattern correctly: Where I have the 8 single lilac stitches, I K the single lilac stitch, knit 2 green stitches and place the marker. Then, I knit green all the way to the marker and THAT’S where to start the decrease, correct? OR do I knit green to the marker and then keep going to where the row USED to end (three stitches past the marker)?

  81. 103 Venus September 29, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    Cute, cute, cute hat! I am going to make one for my grand daughter. One thing I can not find is the amount of yarn it will take. Can you post the yardage for each color, please.

  82. 104 Tim H., SM T99 November 13, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    As a Scoutmaster, when I go to summer camp, I insist that all the adult leaders have a project to work on throughout the week to keep us busy. This year I asked one of the adults to teach me to knit. On the 1st of November my wife told me about the Clickforbabies.org campaign, so I got busy. This is #8, started and finished 11/12/12. I did not know there were patterns for this type hat. I just thought, why not, and started knitting. I’m not very happy with how the stalk turned out, but other than that, I’m pleased. http://ravel.me/CigarSquid/h8ym0

  83. 105 Nancy December 7, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    HI, I think the pattern is very cute, and I’ve completed the hat. However, the leaves on the hat I made do not stand up like the ones in the photo. I did decrease every round as the pattern said. I think there’s a step missing and I would love to know what it is. The hat looks okay with flat leaves, but so much cuter with raised leaves. Can you suggest what is missing, or what to do to raise the leaves?

  84. 106 Carla Ficorilli January 2, 2013 at 7:34 am

    How do you get the leaves to puff up and twist? I’ve made the hat twice and each time the leaves are flat.

    • 107 Michele Sabatier January 22, 2013 at 7:01 pm

      I’ve had a few people say the same. But others have no problem, so I don’t know without looking at your work how to fix that. Just follow the placement of the marker and decreases on EVERY row very carefully regardless of how you’ve done hat decreases in the past.

      • 108 Nancy January 22, 2013 at 8:45 pm

        I also had the same problem, that is: flat leaves. I’m positive I knit the hat exactly as printed, and I used a soft cotton yarn for babies. The leaves are definitely flat. The hat looks okay, but it would look better with raised leaves.

  85. 109 NanGreen January 21, 2013 at 11:24 am

    Thank you for this pattern. It is so cute.

  86. 110 cissie clement January 23, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    I too love the Berry hat and want to download it, but when I click Grab the PDF, my computer freezes and there is some plug-in issue. Is there another place or way to get the pattern? I have twins to knit for and am ready to roll. Thanks so much

  87. 112 Lynn Halliday January 29, 2013 at 6:58 am

    Hi, I love this baby hat, I only knit for charity and knit a lot of Premi hats for my local hospital.
    I only knit with straight needles, would it be possible to knit this hat .
    I do hope you can help, the new mums would love this little hat, it would make them smile at a very worrying time.
    Thanks so much Lynn

    • 113 Michele Sabatier February 2, 2013 at 4:23 pm

      I’m sure there’s a way that would involve a seam, but I just don’t know. If you can find a basic hat that is knit flat with a seam you might be able to adapt the color pattern, and adjust the decreases so that it retains the “pop up” effect. Do you have a local knit shop where someone could help? Good luck — sorry I can’t be of more help.

  88. 114 carrie February 2, 2013 at 9:56 am

    My computer willl not allow me to download the pdf of the pattern. Could someone please email me the pdf to catherine.bandy@gmail.com? Thanks so much!

  89. 115 Eva February 6, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    First, thanks for the pattern! Very cute. Second, I’ve made this hat twice and both times they turn out cute but the “leaves” don’t seem to twist in on themselves as much as they do in the picture. Would you have any clues for why this might happen or tips for what you do? I believe I understand all techniques used. Thank you, Eva

  90. 116 Mel in the Atl March 3, 2013 at 6:51 pm

    Is it okay to ask questions here? Or would you prefer another way of communication? I have run into a slight issue on my part regarding transferring from size 7 to size 8. My work is not on the wrong side and having to purl (garter st) inside the circular. HAHA

    • 117 Michele Sabatier March 3, 2013 at 7:07 pm

      Well, I don’t think it has to do with the needle size. If I’m understanding you correctly (Isn’t it hard to describe knitting quirks?) you might just need to flip the work inside out! I think this happened to me once when I was changing needles. Hope that helps!

  91. 118 Margaret Hughes March 22, 2013 at 10:25 am

    I am in Ireland and want to knit the above hat, it’s really cute. The pattern calls for 7 & 8 circular needles, when I went to buy needles the told me that here that would be a size 3 and 4. Is that true?


  1. 1 A day without the Bub « Knit. Frog. Repeat. Trackback on February 11, 2008 at 9:17 am
  2. 2 Needle Exchange » A Very Special Episode of Saturday, Pattern Day (#36)! Trackback on April 14, 2008 at 2:54 pm
  3. 3 1st Baby Knit of 2008 « Rubys N Purls Trackback on April 24, 2008 at 6:55 am
  4. 4 Too Little Time… « Buy Me A Drink… Trackback on July 23, 2008 at 11:10 am
  5. 5 Summer Gifts « Earthwhisper Fiber Arts Trackback on July 30, 2008 at 6:09 pm
  6. 6 Knits that make you go “Squeeeeee!” « Your Friendly Neighborhood Lorelei Trackback on September 6, 2008 at 7:28 am
  7. 7 eggsintomatoes.com » Blog Archive » The Knitting Mojo, she is Back! Trackback on September 22, 2008 at 5:05 pm
  8. 8 Blog Trackback on October 14, 2008 at 2:03 pm
  9. 9 jaynee.co.uk » Blog Archive » Berry baby hats Trackback on October 19, 2008 at 7:25 pm
  10. 10 Berry Baby Hats « WAKC Weblog Trackback on November 4, 2008 at 8:23 pm
  11. 11 Spring KAL/CAL for Babies « destiknit™ Trackback on February 21, 2009 at 8:11 am
  12. 12 Instant Gratification « hot pink peonies Trackback on March 2, 2009 at 8:00 pm
  13. 13 And the winner is…. « A Sheepish Little Blog. Trackback on March 3, 2009 at 9:13 pm
  14. 14 Happy Knits « The Nifty Knitter Trackback on March 31, 2009 at 10:39 am
  15. 15 Knitting for the Girls « Seemeknitting’s Weblog Trackback on April 11, 2009 at 9:19 am
  16. 16 Freezing cold but yarn and harp « Idyll Whims Trackback on April 15, 2009 at 5:28 pm
  17. 17 Cute little baby hat « Claygirley’s Knitting Blog Trackback on May 13, 2009 at 7:42 pm
  18. 18 Berry Hats « The Adamson Family Trackback on May 17, 2009 at 8:19 pm
  19. 19 Gifts, gifts, gifts! Part deux « Willing Hands Trackback on May 19, 2009 at 7:20 pm
  20. 20 Theme of the day – Leaves « George Street Trackback on July 8, 2009 at 7:58 pm
  21. 21 Walsall Wonderland » Blog Archive » Theme Post – Leaves Trackback on July 8, 2009 at 7:58 pm
  22. 22 A very berry baby hat « Hand Made by Mira Trackback on July 26, 2009 at 8:20 am
  23. 23 A lot of changes « I’m Just a Nana Trackback on August 23, 2009 at 6:31 am
  24. 24 Jenny's Blog Trackback on December 12, 2009 at 1:51 am
  25. 25 Knit a Baby Berry Hat Trackback on March 23, 2010 at 7:02 am
  26. 26 After all, it IS October. | ÖREN BAYANLAR Trackback on May 10, 2010 at 4:27 am
  27. 27 from the needles: summer squash baby hat « Elephant & Castle Trackback on June 30, 2010 at 10:50 am
  28. 28 In Stitches » Novelty hats for kids, for the contest Trackback on August 4, 2010 at 5:13 am
  29. 29 In Stitches » Puzzled Trackback on August 23, 2010 at 7:58 am
  30. 30 In Stitches » Alpacas, prayer shawls and the contest for kids Trackback on August 26, 2010 at 2:27 pm
  31. 31 In Stitches » The rainbow hat Trackback on August 29, 2010 at 8:13 am
  32. 32 In Stitches » Growing Puzzled Trackback on September 1, 2010 at 5:30 am
  33. 33 In Stitches » Wow! Thank you Ann Kulick! Trackback on September 8, 2010 at 11:42 am
  34. 34 In Stitches » More contributions for the contest Trackback on September 15, 2010 at 1:25 pm
  35. 35 In Stitches » How are you doing on your contest projects? Trackback on September 22, 2010 at 5:38 am
  36. 36 Pumpkin Season…Now with Cherry Flavor | Sway Knits Trackback on October 9, 2010 at 8:52 pm
  37. 37 A little knitting « Crafty Beats Trackback on October 18, 2010 at 7:16 am
  38. 38 berretto frutti di bosco di Michelle Sabatier « La Maglia di Marica Trackback on October 19, 2010 at 3:44 pm
  39. 39 Feeling Loopy – design finch Trackback on November 21, 2010 at 7:20 pm
  40. 40 FO Friday – Gift Edition « Sheared Bliss Trackback on January 14, 2011 at 8:33 am
  41. 41 Slow Digi-bits » Blog Archive » Berry Hat for Baby Trackback on February 25, 2011 at 9:54 am
  42. 42 from the needles: tiered baby jacket « Elephant & Castle Trackback on March 21, 2011 at 10:10 am
  43. 43 Some new knitting « Trackback on June 23, 2011 at 12:06 pm
  44. 44 Berry Baby Hats « The Blue Brick | Photography and Handcrafts by Shireen Nadir Trackback on July 21, 2011 at 2:15 pm
  45. 45 Road Project | It's Knot You Trackback on July 31, 2011 at 6:47 pm
  46. 46 Finished: Berry Baby Hat | It's Knot You Trackback on August 8, 2011 at 6:37 pm
  47. 47 Bærluer og ankelsokker. Trackback on September 12, 2011 at 12:05 pm
  48. 48 Knitting soothes a tortured soul. « Kimberly Knits Trackback on September 13, 2011 at 1:00 pm
  49. 49 Berry Hat « living peacefully with children Trackback on October 6, 2011 at 8:59 am
  50. 50 Knitting a Baby Hat & Starting a Daybreak Shawl | Andrea Arbour Trackback on October 17, 2011 at 3:12 pm
  51. 51 Knitting Up A Storm Trackback on October 27, 2011 at 1:01 am
  52. 52 Jejune.net » Blog Archive » A Jaunty Selection of Baby Caps for Today’s Modern Infant Trackback on November 7, 2011 at 10:29 am
  53. 53 Knit Like a Boss: This One’s for the Babies ‹ Liza Eckert Trackback on February 25, 2012 at 2:39 pm
  54. 54 Crafts gifts for Halloween: berry baby hat, knitting patterns | NEW CRAFTS DEALS Trackback on March 8, 2012 at 8:44 am
  55. 55 Baby things | The Jaded Knitter Trackback on May 28, 2012 at 10:16 am
  56. 56 Knitters Mercantile Blog » Blog Archive » Free Pattern Friday: Berry Baby Hat Trackback on June 2, 2012 at 7:46 am
  57. 57 Not so lazy spring | The Jaded Knitter Trackback on June 5, 2012 at 11:35 am
  58. 58 Finally some FOs! | The Jaded Knitter Trackback on June 13, 2012 at 10:26 am
  59. 59 TuT – little strawberry hat | MorSella's Trackback on June 23, 2012 at 7:00 pm
  60. 60 25 Free Beginner Knitting Patterns | Painting Lilies Trackback on September 19, 2012 at 9:18 pm
  61. 61 A Pumpkin for my Pumpkin « Project Hallway Trackback on October 1, 2012 at 6:26 pm
  62. 62 E’ TEMPO DI ZUCCHE.. « La Maglia di Marica Trackback on October 11, 2012 at 1:59 am
  63. 63 Cappelli di lana per bambini: raccolta di schemi - Site under construction Trackback on December 24, 2012 at 9:18 am
  64. 64 Year In Review « Trackback on December 31, 2012 at 2:48 pm
Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

